Awards & Achievements

Doc. RNDr. Jana Kalbáčová Vejpravová, Ph.D.

Asian Pacific Society


Award for Material Research Year 2018


Jana Kalbáčová Vejpravová received the Award Certificate by the Asia Pacific Society for Materials Research for “Outstanding research and contribution to ISAMR 2018 Invited Presentation”. On that occasion, Jana Kalbáčová Vejpravová delivered invited talk on topographic states of graphene and its consequences for physics and chemistry in flatland.

Mgr. Anna Fučíková, Ph.D.

US Department of State


Award for Participation in a programme Hidden No More


…Over three weeks in October-November, 2019 fifty women who work in science, technology, engineering, arts and mathematics (S.T.E.A.M.) in 50 countries and territories around the world travelled across the United States for a one-of-a-kind exchange programme aimed at evening out the gender gap in these fields….

prof. RNDr. Jiří Bičák, DrSc., dr. h. c.

In 2019, Prof. Jiří Bičák was awarded fellowship of the International Society on General Relativity and Gravitation for his wide-ranging contributions to mathematical general relativity, outstanding service to the international gravitational community, and his leadership in nurturing research in this field in the Czech Republic for the last five decades. The Society elects Fellows from among leading scientists in its membership.

In 2019, Werner Koester Prize was awarded to Doc. RNDr. Martin Vlach, Ph.D.; Prof. RNDr. Jakub Čížek, Ph.D.; Doc. RNDr. Bohumil Smola, CSc.; Doc. RNDr. Ivana Stulíková, CSc.; RNDr. Petr Hruška, Ph.D.; RNDr. Veronika Kodetová; Doc. RNDr. Stanislav Daniš, Ph.D. for the article Influence of dislocations on precipitation processes in hot-extruded Al–Mn–Sc–Zr alloy published in International Journal of Materials Research. The Prize is “named after the former director of the MPI for metal research in Stuttgart, Werner Koester, it honours an exemplary article in the magazine “Zeitschrift fuer Metallkunde”, that focusses on fundamental, original work in the field of materials science. The prize is awarded annually by the DGM together with the Carl Hanser publishing company, for an article that was published during the previous year.” (see )

prof. RNDr. Jan Trlifaj, CSc., DSc.

Prof. Jan Trlifaj was awarded the Fellowship of the American Mathematical Society in 2019. He is one of the three Czech mathematicians who have received this honour. The Fellowship was awarded to Prof. Trlifaj in 2019 for his contributions to homological algebra and tilting theory for non finitely generated modules.

Mgr. Matěj Konečný

The magazine Discrete Mathematics (Elsevier) awarded Mgr. Matěj Konečný with William T. Tutte Student Paper Award in Discrete Mathematics for his paper on Extending partial isometries of antipodal graphs. Mgr. Konečný managed to win the very first year of this competition (2019).

Mgr. Stanislav Valenta, Ph.D.

In 2019, Mgr. Stanislav Valenta, Ph.D. was awarded Becquerel Prize for the first place in the category of nuclear research for his work on Gamma decay of highly excited nuclear level. This prize is awarded in the competition of research works organized by the French Embassy in the Czech Republic. The 25th edition of the competition was attended by a total of 60 young researchers younger than 33 years.

RNDr. Martin Balko, Ph. D.

RNDr. Martin Balko, Ph. D. was awarded the Neuron Award which recognize outstanding work of young scientists. Dr. Balko is a senior assistant professor at the Department of Applied Mathematics at the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics. He successfully focussed on several mathematical problems in combinatorics that scientists has tried for years to solve.

Mgr. Ondřej Pejcha, Ph. D.

Mgr. Ondřej Pejcha, Ph. D., received the Neuron Award which is awarded to young scientists for outstanding work. Dr. Pejcha is an astrophysicist and recipient of a prestigious ERC grant. His work focuses on supernovae and interactions between binary stars that play a role in the formation of celestial objects such as white dwarfs, neutron stars and black holes.


Charles University, Faculty of Mathematics and Physics
Ke Karlovu 3, 121 16 Praha 2, Czech Republic
VAT ID: CZ00216208

HR Award at Charles University

4EU+ Alliance